Squirrels!

I have been informed by doctors, midwives and hubby that it is important I go for a walk every day at this stage in pregnancy. So, in order to motivate myself to step out of my cozy warm house and get outside in the freezing wind, I have set various photographic goals, one of which is my goal to take some wicked squirrel and bird pictures in the nearby woods.

Fluffy friend one: The territorial branch-keeper

Fluffy friend one: The territorial branch-keeper

IMG_3221fp

So today, I bundled myself up and took my camera for a walk. Since I was alone and, notwithstanding my increased weight, I can still tread as silently as a panther – I managed to come upon an entire squirrel family busily jumping up and down in the trees, gorging themselves on holly berries. (Holly berries? Aren’t they poisonous? Apparently not for squirrels!)

IMG_3224fp

Fluffy friend two: The fence acrobat

Fluffy friend two: The fence acrobat

 

Fluffy Friend three: the ground digger

Fluffy Friend three: the ground digger

IMG_3233fp

IMG_3234fp

I stood there as quietly as possible and snapped as many pictures as I could. Still very hard to catch the little suckers in action, but I managed to get a few shots I’m proud of. I focused mainly on four individuals and stalked them until a pack of dogs and their owners came walking by. Then they all disappeared like ghosts in the mist.

Fluffy Friend four: The holly berry thief

Fluffy Friend four: The holly berry thief

IMG_3243fp

IMG_3248fp

IMG_3251fp

So I continued my walk and got a few bonus shots of birds, looking cute as usual. Not the best because they are even harder than squirrels to photograph, but still, I have time to work on them. I don’t give up so easily!

And some bonus shots

And some bonus shots

IMG_3261fp

IMG_3263texturefp

One thought on “Squirrels!

Leave a Reply

